138 Worcester State Student-Athletes Earn Spring 2017 MASCAC All-Academic Accolades

138 Worcester State Student-Athletes Earn Spring 2017 MASCAC All-Academic Accolades

Spring 2017 MASCAC All-Academic Team

WORCESTER, Mass. – 138 Worcester State University student-athletes were named to the Spring 2017 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) All-Academic team, as announced by the MASCAC Commissioner, Angela Baumann, Thursday afternoon.


Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the MASCAC institutions during the course of the spring 2017 athletic season and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the semester are eligible for selection to the Spring All-Academic Team. The sports recognized are baseball women’s lacrosse, softball and men’s and women’s outdoor track and field. The team also includes student-athletes that competed in winter sports during the spring semester.


“I am proud of our student-athletes for their commitment not only of the field, but also in the classroom,” commented Worcester State Director of Athletics, Michael Mudd. “It’s great to see our student-athletes succeed in this area, especially since academics is a strong focus of a Division III program.”


A total of 798 student-athletes in the MASCAC were honored. Westfield State University placed the most student-athletes on the Spring 2017 MASCAC All-Academic Team with 158 total, while Bridgewater State University and Worcester State University are tied in second with 138, Fitchburg State University is fourth with 98 while Salem State University is fifth with 69 student-athletes on the team.   


“MASCAC student-athletes finding success in the classroom is a crucial part of our conference and the NCAA’s philosophy,” said Commissioner Baumann. “The student-athletes continue to excel at a high level in all aspects of their collegiate life whether in the classroom or on the field of play.”


Portions of this Release Courtesy of Emily Loux | MASCAC Director of Media Relations