Indoor Track & Field Opens 2019 at Tufts Invitational

Indoor Track & Field Opens 2019 at Tufts Invitational

MEDFORD, Mass. - A victory by junior Abigail MacGregor (Salem, N.H.) in the finals of the women's 60 meter dash highlighted a strong showing by the Worcester State University men's and women's indoor track & field team Saturday in the Tufts Invitational at the Gantcher Center.

MacGregor won the event with a time of 8.15, and also had a strong showing in the 200 meter dash, where she finished in fourth place with a time of 27.91.

Junior Elisabeth Olson (Wilmington, Mass.) impressed on the day with a strong showing in the 1,000 meter run. She finished second, crossing the tape in 3:15.71. Sophomore Shaylee Puleo (Tewksbury, Mass.) was the highest Lancer finisher in the women's mile run, finishing in 11th with a time of 6:06.50.

On the men's side, thrower Marcus Vieira (Peabody, Mass.) finished in second place in each of his events on the day. He opened the day with a throw of 15.05 meters in the shot put, followed by a throw of 17.27 in the weight throw. Teammate Eddy Acuna (Newton, Mass.) also had a strong performance in the shot put, finishing in fifth with a throw of 14.35 meters.

On the track, junior Eddy Boamah (Worcester, Mass.) and freshman Andre Luciano (Milford, Mass.) each finished with a pair of top eight finishes. Boamah finished second in the 200 meter dash (22.78) and sixth in the 60 meter dash (7.261), while Luciano finished sixth in the 200 meter dash (23.11) and eighth in the 60 meter dash (7.268). In the 600 meter run, freshman Robert Doig (Ashby, Mass.) finished in eighth, with a time of 1:30.42.

Two additional Lancer men finished in the top four of their respective events to round out the top performances on the day. Freshman Charles Bray (Shrewsbury, Mass.) finished in third place (9.14) in the finals of the 60 meter hurdles, while senior Scott Page (Winchendon, Mass.) was fourth in the pole vault, recording a height of 3.95 meters.

The Lancers will be back in action next Saturday at the Smith Pioneers Invitational.